Monday, October 20, 2014


According to 'X Factor' host Luke Jacobz, tonight's Grand Final was one of the closest in the competition's history, but it was 15 year old schoolgirl Marlisa who walked away with the spoils, winning the competition over the heavy favourite Dean Ray, with Brothers 3 placing in third.
Bizarrely, she's already released a (presumably pre-prepared) statement about her win.
"My X Factor Journey has been incredible because of the beautiful people around me," she said. "To my loving family, thank you for standing by me through thick and thin, you are my rock and my strength... Thank you also for the rare opportunity that Sony Music Entertainment presents to ordinary Australians like me starting a career in music. Thank you to Ronan Keating for believing in my ability and nurturing my talent, I have enjoyed every single day of working with you. And to all my supporters, thank you for getting behind me every single week, for I will not be where I am today without your support."
Marlisa's debut single 'Stand By You' has already been serviced to Australian media ahead of its arrival at Australian digital retail, presumably in a couple hours, so viewers in the non-daylight savings states don't have their viewing spoiled. A CD single edition will drop on October 24.
Marlisa's debut album is also incoming, with Sony Music confirming that the 11 tracker will drop at Aussie retail on Friday November 07.
It comprises studio versions of songs she performed on the show, including 'Titanium' and 'All By Myself', along with the debut single 'Stand By You'.
But Dean and Brothers 3 shouldn't feel too dejected. Going on past experience, it'll only be a matter of days before their winners' singles are also doing the rounds at Australian media and retail.

01. Stand By You
02. Yesterday
03. All By Myself
04. Hopelessly Devoted To You
05. Let It Go
06. Nothing Else Matters
07. Try
08. Titanium
09. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
10. Girl On Fire
11. Impossible


Eagle-eyed 'X Factor' fans will have seen a little grab of the new 'Platinum Edition' of Jessica Mauboy's album 'Beautiful' flash up on the big screen following her performance of new single 'Can I Get A Moment' on tonight's Grand Final.
As first revealed on auspOp just over a week ago (HERE), the new edition will house all the songs featured on the original edition of the album, along with the new track and four other new recordings; 'The Day Before I Met You', 'All Mine', 'Palace' and 'Nothing To Lose'.
'Beautiful : Platinum Edition' is out on Friday November 21.

01. Beautiful
02. Kiss Me Hello
03. Pop A Bottle (Fill Me Up)
04. I Believe
05. Never Be The Same
06. In Love Again
07. Honest
08. I’ll Be There
09. Go (I Don’t Need You)
10. Heartbreak Party
11. Barriers
12. To The End Of The Earth
13. Kick Up Your Heels
14. Can I Get a Moment?
15. The Day Before I Met You
16. All Mine
17. Palace
18. Nothing to Lose


Timomatic has been known primarily for his completely danceable chart hits like 'Set It Off', 'Parachute' and 'If Looks Could Kill', but on his new single 'Delilah', he's seriously mixing it up, stripping things down (metaphorically and literally) and showing us that he's about much more than the party songs.
The video has premiered within the last hour and at the time of penning this, it's still well under the 50 view mark, but given how stylish it is (and the fact Tim's sans top for a fair bit of it), it's guaranteed to start seeing plenty of clicks in the days ahead.
Smooth and polished, it's hard not to be impressed by 'Delilah', as Timo aims to take his music career to the next level. We hope his audience gets behind the song and makes it into the smash hit it deserves to be.


Settle down please. Gwen Stefani is back in the solo sphere, releasing her brand new single 'Baby Don't Lie' today.
It's been six years since she wrapped up her commitments for 'The Sweet Escape' and eight years since the album was released.
Universal Music tells us to expect Gwen's long-awaited (and as-yet-untitled) third studio album in the shops before the end of the year.
She'll no doubt reveal more as part of a Q&A on Twitter that's scheduled to take place tonight US time, meaning around 4am tomorrow on the Aussie East Coast.
A video for 'Baby Don't Lie', filmed last month in Los Angeles, is due shortly.


This spiffy-looking young man has all the more reason to smile today, for his secret is out...
Though he's still just 17 years of age, Newcastle native Just A Gent has the music industry sitting up and taking notice, inking a deal with Island Records Australia and readying the release of his debut EP.
After selling out eleven shows across the country earlier in the year, Just A Gent (aka Jacob Grant) has been making waves via his inclusion on Skrillex' compilation 'Selects', as well as his remixing of Nick Jonas' track 'Chains' and American Authors' 'Best Day Of My Life'.
But now he's stepping into the spotlight proper, with the release of his debut EP 'Stories To Tell' locked in for Boxing Day. Lead single 'Limelight' was serviced to media on Friday and is already available digitally.
Stay tuned for summer tour dates, to be announced in the weeks ahead.


According to the blurb accompanying the video for the new Passenger single '27', Los Angeles turned on a bit of a scorcher for its creation last month (41ºC), so be on the eye out for more than one bead of sweat or two trickling down his neck.
How in the world he's still standing when wearing that long sleeve shirt and jeans in that heat, we'll never know. There's not a sweat patch to be seen.
And in amongst the life-sized cigarette, the dancing girls, the heart, the trick or treaters, the human cannonball, the string quartet, the dentists and the scout master... we have to say that's quite the feat.


It's a big day for fans of Aussie performer Guy Sebastian.
First and foremost, his new single 'Mama Ain't Proud' has hit Aussie media and retail. Secondly, he'll be performing the song on 'The X Factor' grand final tonight, after appearing alongside Brothers 3 for a performance of 'Like A Drum' last night.
And thirdly - and probably most importantly for his fanbase - is the confirmation that Guy's seventh studio album 'Madness' will be released next month.
He's also set to traverse the country, on what's his most ambitious tour to date, locking in shows at arenas in all five major metropolitan centres, along with a show at the WIn Entertainment Centre in Wollongong. Tickets are on sale now.
'Madness' will be released on Friday November 21. More details as they come to hand.

TOURING : John Legend

Soul superstar John Legend will tour Australia in December, confirming a selection of stripped-back intimate indoor shows, along with a duo of A Day On The Green Events.
The US performer, whose star down under has grown immeasurably since his No.1 smash 'All Of Me', will kick off his Aussie touring commitments on December 05, with a show at the Qantas Credit Union Arena in Sydney. He'll take in shows in Melbourne, Brisbane and Adelaide, plus an outdoor show at Perth's Kings Domain and Botanic Gardens, as well as winery commitments in the Hunter Valley and Victoria's Yarra Valley.
Special guest on each of the dates will be 'X Factor' songstress Dami Im, who released her new album 'Heart Beats' on Friday.
Megan Washington will join proceedings for the A Day On The Green shows.
There are a number of pre-sales, kicking off with one for the fan club on Wednesday from midday local time.
General public tickets for all are on sale from 10am on Monday October 27.

December 05 : Sydney (Qantas Credit Union Arena)
December 06 : Hunter Valley (Bimbadgen Wines)
December 08 : Brisbane (Convention Centre)
December 12 : Melbourne (The Plenary)
December 13 : Yarra Valley (Rochford Wines)
December 14 : Adelaide (AEC Theatre)
December 16 : Perth (Kings Park & Botanic Gardens)